2022 SXSW Film Festival Winners—Full List—Deadline

2022 SXSW Film Festival Winners—Full List—Deadline

2022 Jury and Special Award winners of the 29th SXSW Film Festival have been revealed!

“It was extraordinary to gather together in person again after so long and we are so grateful to the filmmakers and audience who joined us at SXSW 2022 in Austin, Texas for our first in-person event since 2019,” said Janet Pierson, VP, Director of Film. “The program was celebrated across the board and tonight we get to give a special shout-out to the award winners.”

Feature films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories. SXSW also announced all other juried sections, including Shorts, Design and XR Experience Awards. Special Awards announced included: Louis Black “Lone Star” Award, Adobe Editing Award, Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award, ZEISS Cinematography Award, the Mailchimp Support the Shorts Award and the Fandor New Voices Award.

The 2022 SXSW Film Festival Juries consisted of:

Narrative Feature Competition: Sheri Linden, The Hollywood Reporter; Siddhant Adlakha, filmmaker and critic; Jenelle Riley, Variety

Documentary Feature Competition: Jason Bailey, critic, historian and author; Carlos Aguilar, film critic and journalist; Beandrea July, freelance film critic

Louis Black “Lone Star”: Richard Whitaker, The Austin Chronicle; Kathy Blackwell, Executive Editor, Texas Monthly; Karen Valby, author and freelance writer

Narrative Shorts Program: Mohammad Gorjestani, filmmaker; Natalie Haack Flores, VP Development, Nuyorican Productions; Inga Diev, GM Ouat Media

Documentary Shorts: Greg Rhem, writer, director, producer and creative consultant for MTV Documentary Films; Ryan Harrington, Head of Film, Kinema; Yvonne Ashley Kouadjo, series producer, New York Times’ Op-Docs

Animated Shorts: Julia Pott, animator; John Agbaje, SVP of Animation, Bad Robot; Brook Keesling, Head of Animation Talent Development, Bento Box Entertainment

Midnight Shorts: Barbara Crampton, actor and producer; Dana Gills, SVP of Development and Production, Monkeypaw; Bea Sequeira, producer, Blumhouse

Music Videos: Andrew Unterberger, Deputy Editor, Billboard; Shanna Green, Director of Communications, Commercials and Short-Form Content, Anonymous Content; Meghan Oretsky, Senior Curator, Vimeo

Texas Shorts: Cat Cardena, Associate Editor, Texas Monthly; Eric Webb, Entertainment Editor, Austin-American Statesman; Monique Walton, filmmaker

Texas High School Shorts: Bart Weiss, Educator and Founder, Dallas VideoFest; Lindsey Ashley, Deputy Director, Texas Film Commission; Dr. Tere Garza, Professor of Communication, St Edward’s University

Episodic Pilot Competition: Randi Kleiner, Co-Founder and CEO, SeriesFest; Selome Hailu, Variety; Augustine Frizzell, filmmaker

Excellence in Title Design: Victoria Nece, Principal Product Manager, Motion Graphics, Adobe; Hazel Baird, Creative Director and Designer, Elastic; Saskia Marka, freelance designer

Excellence in Poster Design: Barak Epstein, Texas Theater in Dallas, producer; Becky Cloonan, illustrator and cartoonist; Kevin Tong, illustrator

XR Experience Jury: Nonny de la Peña, founder, Emblematic Group; Kent Bye, Voices of VR; Loren Hammonds, Producer, Co-head of Documentary, TIME Studios

All 2022 film categories will be eligible for category-specific Audience Awards, which will be certified by the accounting firm of Maxwell Locke & Ritter. Online Screenings and Audience Award Voting will conclude at 9am CT on Monday, March 21. Winners will be announced via sxsw.com that week.

Films will continue to be available on the SXSW platform until 9:00am CT on Monday, March 21. SXSW will continue running the Online Shift72 Screening Library through March 31, 2021, for those films that have opted-in to the extended timeframe.

The SXSW 2022 Film Festival Awards:

Adobe Editing Award Everything Everywhere All At Once edited by Paul Rogers

The ZEISS Cinematography Award A Vanishing Fog with cinematography by Gio Park

Adam Yauch Hornblower Award Chee$se directed by Damian Marcano!

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award What We Leave Behind directed by Iliana Sosa

Fandor New Voices Award What We Leave Behind directed by Iliana Sosa.

mailchimp Support the Shorts Award The Voice Actress directed by Anna J. Takayama.

Special Jury Recognition for Exceptional Intimacy in Storytelling
Bad Ax directed by David Siev.

Special Jury Recognition for Acting in a Documentary Steve Glew for The Pez Outlaw.

Documentary Feature Competition Grand Jury Award Master of Light directed by Rosa Ruth Boesten.

Special Grand Jury Recognition for Extraordinary Cinematic Vision Cast and crew of It Is In Us All

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance Elizaveta Yankovskaya for Nika

Special Jury Recognition for Going the Extra Mile Myd – ‘Let You Speak’ directed by Dan Carr.

Special Jury Recognition for PowerfulShort Trip” Omi directed by Kelly Fyffe-Marshall

Short Film Jury Awards for Midnight Shorts Moshari directed by Nuhash Humayuni

Short Film Grand Jury Award for Music Videos Desiree Dawson – ‘Meet Me At the Light’ directed by Alexander Farah

2022 Special Jury Recognition for Unique Vision in Writing and Directing My Year of Dicks directed by Sara Gunnarsdottir

Special Jury Recognition for Unexpected Emotion Tears of the Seine directed by Yanis Belaid and Eliott Benard

Special Jury Recognition for Visceral Storytelling Something in the Garden directed by Marcos Sanchez

Short Film Grand Jury Award for Animated Shorts goes to Bestia directed by Hugo Covarrubias.

Special Jury Recognition for Visual Reflection Not Even For A Moment Do Things Stand Still directed by Jamie Meltzer

Special Jury Recognition for Directing and Community Filmmaking Glitter Ain’t Gold directed by Christian Nolan Jones

Special Jury Recognition for Outstanding Performances Aphrodite Armstrong and Kyle Riggs for West By God

Short Film Grand Jury Award for Narrative Short All the Crows in the World directed by Tang Yi

Special Jury Recognition for Poster Design The Sentence of Michael Thompson designed by Juan Miguel Marin

Film Design Award for Poster Design More Than I Remember by Yen Tan and Maya Edelman

Short Film Jury Award for Documentary Short Long Line of Ladies directed by Rayka Zehtabchi and Shaandiin Tome

Special Jury Recognition The White Lotus Title Sequence by Katrina Crawford and Mark Bashore

Film Design Award for Title Sequence Foundation by Ronnie Koff

Special Jury Recognition for Immersive Storytelling (Hi)story of a Painting: The Light in the Shadow directed by Quentin Darras and Gaëlle Mourre.

Film Award for 40 Years of Massive Talent goes to Nick Cage

Narrative Feature Competition Grand Jury Award I Love My Dad directed by James Morosini